So… It Begins.

I’ve never actually written a blog before, and since I just spent about half an hour trying to choose a nice colour scheme and a witty sub-title, I’ve used up all the energy I should have used on trying to write a good introduction. Guess I may as well just start telling you all about myself.

My name is Patrick Scott, and I’m a second year History and Economics student at Reading University. Earlier this year, during a mild panic phase where I looked for any summer placement I could find in order to not end up watching old Simpsons episodes from June to September, I applied for the British Council’s Teaching English in Thailand programme. I spent an evening on it, assumed I wouldn’t be successful, promptly forgot I’d sent it in the first place, then about a month later had a reply telling me I’d been accepted. So that was nice.

Fast forward to today, and now that my exams are finished and I’ve finally applied for my visa, it’s began to hit that I’m actually going to be spending close to 3 months in Thailand. I’m still hideously under prepared for it, as I need to sort out the clothes I’m taking, get my DBS certificate sent to me and work out how exactly I’m going to teach a class full of hyperactive Thai kids, but hopefully these are all problems I can solve in the next couple of weeks before I go (and I did buy some cheap books to read on the plane journey, so that’s a start, right?)

I love travelling and writing (non-academically, that is. Not fussed about writing another exam anytime soon), although they’re both things that I’ve felt that I haven’t been able to do much of recently, so it’s great that I’ll be able to document everything with this blog. Having said that, I really want to try and write something more interesting than just a list of things that I did on a given day, so I’ll try and inject some creativity into it. And hey, maybe I’ll even manage to be funny in the process. But don’t hold me to that.

Of course, there’s still plenty I’m concerned about. I’m fully expected to get to Thailand and have no idea of what the hell I’m doing for the first few weeks, and there’s also the issue of Thailand’s political stability. Granted, I don’t think it’s going to affect travellers too much, but the fact that I’ve just written that out probably means I’ve jinxed it.

But overall, I’m looking forward to what should be a brilliant experience; and at the very least, I’ll be able to look back on this post in 3 month’s time and laugh at how clueless I was.

So yeh… Let’s see how this turns out!

 

PS

Leave a Reply

