Tigermilk, Scorpions and a Grand Palace

So my experience of Khaosan Road’s nightlife yesterday left me with a couple of conclusions.

First of all, Tigermilk cocktails are AMAZING. We spent most of the night in a bar opposite our hotel which took great pride in the fact that they had ‘cheap strong cocktails’ and did not check IDs, to the point that both of these statements were displayed on their sign out front and along their walls. When it comes to places like cocktail bars I generally just choose whatever drink has a cool sounding name, so I still have no idea what is in a Tigermilk cocktail (apart from milk, obviously), but I feel that looking it up would destroy some of the magic.

Secondly, fried scorpions on a stick are apparently a delicacy here (or someone wants tourists to believe they are, at least), and I decided that I couldn’t leave without trying one. The thing is, despite being uncomfortably crunchy and leaving a weird aftertaste, they’re actually quite nice. I imagine I’d run into a bit of trouble trying to get any back in England though.

We actually made it to the Grand Palace today! Hooray!

We actually made it to the Grand Palace today! Hooray!

I managed to wake up and check out of the hotel at 9, which felt like quite an achievement on a minimal amount of sleep. We arrived at the Ambassador hotel after a taxi ride, where the British Council have provided us with accomodation for two nights whilst we have our last briefings before departing to our schools at the end of the week. It’s a seriously nice place too, made even better by contrasting it with the noise and squalor of our Khaosan Road hotel, although I dread to think how much a room here would actually cost. That British Council lot, they treat us well.

Following checking in at the Ambassador we grabbed a taxi and finally made it to Bangkok’s Grand Palace, after our attempt to yesterday was foiled by a series of TukTuk escapades. It’s a beautiful place, and an amazing documentation of Thai history and culture. Various museums are scattered around it as well, and we saw a couple of buddhist monks who can’t have been any older than about 15 enthusiastically checking out many of the artefacts and displays. I guess that doesn’t really sound that noteworthy written down, but it was really cool to see exactly how much devotion many of the residents have to the Palace’s history.

IMG_2221

Now I’m back at the Ambassador, and since I’m pretty tired and worn out I may spend the next hour or so trying to work out what is actually going on in the majority of Thai TV shows. Tomorrow will be a full day of meetings and training with the British Council, and I’m excited about meeting my mentor for the first time. I’m not really sure what to expect- I don’t think she speaks much English so there’ll obviously be a language barrier, but from the communications I’ve had with her she seems to be extremely nice and helpful. It’s weird to think that most of my time here will be spent with living in deeper Thailand when I’ve been exposed to the tourist side of everything for the last few days, but obviously teaching and exploring were the reasons I wanted to come on the project in the first place, so I’m looking forward to whatever happens during the next few weeks!

 

PS

Leave a Reply

