Dinner And A Show

Well, at least everything seems to be winding down with me. I wasn’t in school for very long today; my leaving ceremony has been moved to Thursday and my only lesson of the day was with Prathom 6 in the morning. Bubpha had to undertake some testing in a school in Ayutthaya so I was left by myself, and whilst I planned a few things only half of the class actually turned up. After waiting 15 minutes I asked one of the students where everyone was, who replied saying that they had all gone “to the hospital”. All of them. I later saw them return in the afternoon on the back of a truck with nobody looking like they had just received or needed to receive medical treatment, so I suppose this will be another of those Thailand things that gets left unexplained.

Regardless I played hangman with the half that had turned up, but after trying to teach them some things following that they got as bored as I did, so I ended up bringing the guitar up for the the last half hour. It was my final lesson with them, so I have an excuse.

***

coveredeyes - EditedWhen she returned Bubpha whisked me off to her friend’s school that had its own mask workshop, which I had previously visited about three weeks into being here. She introduced me to a group of students who were wearing some traditional (and sparkly) Thai outfits, and after the usual discussions about how old I was and where I was from we were off again with this new group to a restaurant around the corner. I wasn’t really sure at this point what was going on, but I was more distracted by the museum of what i could only describe as ‘Thai kitsch’ items that led on from the restaurant’s seating area. It mostly consisted of weird mannequins dressed as Batman interspersed with old furniture and pinball machines, but it was still pretty cool.

batmanprison - Edited

mandolins - Edited

champ - Edited

footballtables - Edited

mirrorman - Edited

dancersandwaiters - EditedIt was clear that this was more of an ‘entertainment centre’ than just a restaurant (albeit a slightly old-fashioned one), and the Mask Workshop kids were about to put on a show for the groups of restaurant-goers that had arrived shortly after us. The event started with a group of Thai dancers entering the grounds followed by waiters formally parading behind them with carrying trays of food on their shoulders. The intention was clearly for this food to be presented to the customers in the most show-stopping way possible, which they succeeded in doing.

formalwaiters - Edited

After these theatrics the students entered and began their performance, which I think I got the general idea as to what was going on. One student who was bigger than the others was dressed in green sparkly clothing rather than the various other colours that the other, smaller students were wearing. This represented that he was the ‘giant’, and the show consisted of the other kids trying to defeat him in a battle.

giantgroup - Edited

maskshow - Edited

balancingact - Edited

Naturally this involved a lot of backflips, dancing and the students lifting each other up and twirling around. In the climatic fight scene, they all started hitting each other with tree branches. Intense stuff all round then.

twirling - Edited

branchhitting - Edited

It was actually really impressive considering that all of these students were of primary school age, and the audience loved it too, though I guess that this all taking place within touching distance of the restaurant tables helped with the immersion. We stayed for lunch afterwards, during which the waiters had lined up along the road outside to say goodbye to the customers who were now driving off. One of them was now wearing a massive bobble head, because hey, why not.

goodbyeline - Edited

bobblehead - Edited

By the time we were back at Watphachi it was around half 3 and the students were heading home. Although my intention was to go to Bubpha’s room and try to do work (ok, watch Netflix), I started feeling pretty weird around this time and instead ended up sleeping on a bench outside for about an hour. Eventually some of the students woke me up so I went to the schoolhouse to continue sleeping, but soon realised why I hadn’t done that in the first place; it’s unbearably hot in there during the afternoons.

Still, I’m feeling slightly more alive now, despite the creeping feeling that I should be packing more since I have two days until I leave. I managed to formulate more of a rough plan as to where I’ll go during my Southern travelling week after leaving Krabi however, so I think that’s probably more than enough work for today.

 

PS

Leave a Reply

